• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch

• Mieczyslaw Weinberg gained word renown in particular for his operas Congratulations!, The Passenger, The Portrait and Lady Magnesia
• Observing Stravinsky, he also turned to an expressive neoclassicism
• Influenced by Dmitri Shostakovich stylistically while developing an individual personal style
• His musico-dramatic compositions are exceptionally lively, colourful and varied
• His orchestral and instrumental music, including piano music and chamber music as well as symphonies, now also arouses high levels of interest
• Weinberg contributed 60 compositions to the genre of film music alone
• The CD label NEOS began an extensive "Weinberg Edition" with many notable recordings a few years ago
• An International Weinberg Society has been founded in Augsburg, Germany

Works by Mieczyslaw Weinberg include:
Operas: The Portrait (1980), Congratulations! (1982), The Idiot (1985), Lady Magnesia (2011)
Symphonies Nos 6, 10, 12, 14 (1963-1978)
Violin Concerto for violin and orchestra (1959)

Works by Mieczyslaw Weinberg are published by Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski

Also visit the Mieczyslaw Weinberg website at www.weinbergsociety.com

“The delicate purity of the music points to an indestructible human substance.” — Frankfurter Rundschau

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications